Engineering Education for Industry 4.0


2021 ASEE NC Section Conference

8:30 – 9:00

WELCOME – Opening Remarks
o Dr. Michael Toole - Dean of the College of Engineering
o Dr. Betsy Aller, Chair of the ASEE North Central Section
Host: Carmen Cioc

Session 1
9:00 - 9:50                                               

Laboratory Instruction: Chair: Ted Evans
Laboratory Instruction and Delivery of a Pilot IoT Course – Steven T Rowland,
   Michael William Eckels, and Ramakrishnan Sundaram
o Integrated Project Platform for Student Research and Curriculum Development – Niklas Cyril Bitters and Ramakrishnan Sundaram
o EET Course Common Lab Experiments – William Evans
JOIN SESSION 1                                                   

Session 2
9:00 - 9:50                                                                          


Students Experience 1: Chair: Weiqing Sun
Vehicle to Infrastructure Communication System supported by LoRa: Field Experience and Comparative Analysis - Samory Buford, Khandaker Foysal Haque,  and Kumar Yelamarthi
o Prototype Development for Adaptive Solar Tracking and Optimization of Data Communication Protocol - James Douglas Kaul, Gregory Dovel Weed, Jared  Cunningham, Imtiaz Ahmed, and Wook-Sung Yoo
o Digital Hallpass Monitoring System to Improve Emergency Evacuation Procedures in Secondary Schools - Harrison Heinig, Kyle Hohman, Tyler Joseph Horne, Derek  Ritterbusch, Stephany Coffman-Wolph, and Heath Joseph LeBlanc

JOIN SESSION 2                                                                                          



Session 3
10:00 - 10:50                                              


Open-source Hardware and Controls: Chair: Cyrus Hagigat
Combining MATLAB & EXCEL to improve understanding in controls - Cyrus K  Hagigat
o Comparison of frequency response analysis technique and transient response analysis technique in control systems - Cyrus K Hagigat
o Introducing Open Source Hardware in Computer Engineering courses - Sharan  Kalwani and Subramaniam Ganesan

JOIN SESSION 3                                           


Session 4
10:00 - 10:50                                 

Students Experience 2: Chair: Hong Wang
Making College Campus Wheelchair Accessible: Students Perspective - Molu O Olumolade
Landslide mobilized debris flow at Kalli village in Accham, Nepal: A case study - Diwakar K C, Harish Dangi, Mohammad Wasif Naqvi, and Liangbo Hu
Time-Based Door Access Control System Capstone Senior Design Project - Drew Battison, Adam Cook, and Mason Williams

JOIN SESSION 4                                      

Session 5
11:00 - 11:50         

PBL Implementation: Chair: Carmen Cioc
A Statics and Dynamics Project Infusing Entrepreneurial Mindset - Jennifer
Kadlowec, Melanie Amadoro, and Anu Osta
Static Finite Element analysis of a truss assembly using MATLAB - Cyrus K Hagigat
Incorporating Information Literacy in MET Design Project: Year 2 Implementation - Carmen Cioc
JOIN SESSION 5           

Session 6
11:00 - 11:50                                                

Students Experience 3: Chair: Qiuying Zhao
Student problem solving on Textbook and YouTube Problems pertaining to Vapor Liquid Equilibrium - Uchenna Asogwa, Timothy Ryan Duckett, Gale A Mentzer, and  Matthew W Liberatore
o Experiential Learning through Undergraduate Research on a Roadway Energy Harvesting Design (WIP) - Sabrina Martin and Tony Lee Kerzmann
o Control System Integration for Automating an Electric Golf Cart - David T DeLisle,  Qin Hu

JOIN SESSION 6                                                             

12:00 - 12:30

Break & ASEE NC Section Announcements
o Dr. Sheryl Sorby - ASEE president
Host: Carmen Cioc


Session 7
12:30 - 1:10       

Curriculum Development: Chair: Sorin Cioc
Aiming for a System that Provides Closer to 100% of a Student's Needs - Craig J. Gunn
Undergraduate Area of Emphasis in Unmanned Aerial Systems - Mario G Perhinschi


Poster Session   
12:30 - 1:10                                                                      


Chair: Ngalula Sandrine Mubenga
o Design and Construction of a Buoy to Extend Data Collection Period in Lake Erie -  Molly Elizabeth Burke, Sydney Tate Hanratty, Lydia Nemeth, Kaylee Hatfield, Daniel
Noah Hughes, Jacob Dominic Rudy, Morgan Louise Schreck , and Nikoly Dos Santos
o Hydroponics Gardening Systems for the L'Arche Erie Community - Clara Almeter
o Lessons Learned from a First-Year Engineering Wind Turbine Project - Todd France
and William Sierzputowski
o Proactive Basement Flood Monitor - Noah Scott Hancock, Shaheed H Khan, and
Kelvin J Watson
o The Food Tomb - Dylan Boyd
o SAE Baja 4WD System Integration - Logan Hedrick

JOIN POSTER SESSION                                                                              

1:15 - 2:00                                            

Round Table Session 1
Educating Industry-Ready Engineers: Co-op at GVSU. Moderators: Lindsay Corneal.  Panelists: Abigail Hendrick, Gentex; Kelly Martin, Magna Mirrors; Genevieve Wisby,
Autocam Medical; George Ebeling, Active Inspection.
Host: Cyrus Hagigat

JOIN ROUND TABLE #1                                                                    

2:00 - 2:30                                        

Round Table Session 2
Improving Education and Engagement During the COVID-19 Era - Moderators: Karinna  Vernaza, Gannon University; Karen Fetter, University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg;
Leighann Forbes, Gannon University; Eric S. Dart, Gannon University
Host: Mike Toole
JOIN ROUND TABLE #2                                                                     

2:30 - 2:45

Break & Best Paper and Best Poster Awards
o Dr. Betsy Aller, Chair of the ASEE North Central Section
Host: Carmen Cioc


2:45 – 3:15     

Round Table Session 3
The Role of Teaching Centers in Supporting Teaching and Learning Excellence.
Moderators: Denise Bartell, Ashley Pryor, Lesley Berhan, University of Toledo
Host: Denise Bartell

3:15 – 3:45                                                                                          

Round Table Session 4
The Role of Engineering Libraries in Supporting Teaching and Learning Excellence. Moderators: John Napp, University of Toledo; Amber Janssen, California State University Maritime Academy; Debbie Morrow, Grand Valley State University; Kevin Drees,  Oklahoma State University; Marian Armour-Gemmen, West Virginia University
Host: John Napp

JOIN ROUND TABLE #4                                                                                                                                                                                         

3:45 – 4:15                           

Round Table Session 5
The Importance of a Lifelong Learning. Moderators: Normal Rapino, University of  Toledo; Betsy Aller, Western Michigan University
Host: Scott Molitor

JOIN ROUND TABLE #5                                         


Closing Remarks
o Dr. Scott Molitor - Sr. Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, University of Toledo
Host: Carmen Cioc